The Easiest Thing in the World To Do Is…

 

…settle.  Yep, to S-E-T-T-L-E.  It’s not to quit, to give up or to cave in…for even each of those require some degree of resistance in the form of an inner disappointment or feeling of defeat.  Yet to settle, one must only choose to do what’s comfortable, easy and acceptable…all while still being able to “justify” to oneself that the task at hand is still being pursued. Here’s how dictionary.com describes the word:  settle: to accept in spite of incomplete satisfaction.

Going after 50% of a dream is not going after “the dream” at all, living life to ¾ of your potential is to not live the life that you were meant to live, and to run the race for the prize of 2nd place is just flat out tragic.

Why?  It’s “easy,” “that’s just the cards that I was dealt,” “there weren’t any other options,” etc…  One thing is for sure, there is never a shortage of excuses.

Hmmmm….as for me, I’m facing the obstacle of “settling” more than ever.  My partners and I have set out to pursue a BIG vision…and to accomplish this BIG vision, it is going to take a team of great people.  Now great people are not the easiest people to come by….reasons being, they’re generally already very busy, probably committed to something else and cost a lot to work with.  So when setting out to build a great team of about 10 people, I’ve often thought, “Well, you have 5, 6, or 7 great people on board….why not just get some really good people to make up the rest of the team?”

After all, settling for good would bring with it some seemingly attractive progress or advantages.  We could save time, resources and get the ball rolling faster.  And hey, isn’t that just the “reality” of the situation in that we all have wants and needs and sometimes we have to balance what we have with what we want?

Well SCREW reality, SCREW ordinary and SCREW the status quo…I’ve made up my mind to refuse to settle for anything less than amazing…I refuse to settle for anything less than an extraordinary team of 10 great people.  Is it difficult?  Yes.  Will it require more work?  Yes.  Will it be more time consuming?  Yes.  Will it be worth every minute of it?  YOU BET!

Hope this post doesn’t sound like too much of just me ranting…I’ve made a commitment to pursue my passion, to do whatever it takes and go after it with everything I’ve got in order to make it GREAT. 

By Micah Davis

3 Responses

  1. I love it Micah! In the words of Winston Churchill, “History will be kind to me for I intend to write.” and “Great and good are seldom the same man.”

  2. I COMPLETELY agree. It’s become my new life-saying that it may take me 1 hour to do something okay; however, if I can take 5 hours and make it fantastic, and something that will totally rock the world, why wouldn’t I do that? Forget blood, sweat, and tears; I’m going for greatness here, and that makes it all worth it!

  3. Matt…excellent quote! Winston was a man full of wisdom that had the application to back it up.

    Julie…now that’s what I’m talking about…I could sense the passion behind your comment!

Leave a Reply

