Fall Down 7 Times…Get Up 8

 

“Persistence is what makes the impossible possible, the possible likely, and the likely definite.”

Sometimes you feel like you just can’t take it anymore…you’re worn out, your’re beat down, you’re dead beat and you’ve had enough.  Tired, impatient, unsure, unsuccessful, pessimistic…those feelings always seem to creep in when things don’t go according to our plans.  But what if we could only see how close we really are.  If we could only peek around that next bend and see, oh and see that success awaits us.

Yet how many a man has given up on his dream only to have been on the last lap of the race?  How many have succumb to the pressure of failure little knowing that they were so close they could almost reach out and grab it?  Resilience…it’s the “one” trait that can be the difference maker between success and failure.   After all, it’s the man that gets up just “one” more time than the other to be declared the winner of the fight.  It’s the last lap, the last punch, the last quarter that separates the winners from the losers.

“It’s not how you start…it’s how you finish that counts.”

Now don’t get me wrong…I’m not saying it’s easy by any means.  When you feel like you’re knocked down and you’ve had to come such a long way only to be left empty handed, it’s easy to throw in the towel and call it a day. 

But it’s worth it…I promise you.  It’s worth it to dig down deep once more and then rise to the occasion.  It’s worth it to risk failure one more time for the sake of capturing the prize and obtaining the goal.  It’s worth it to pick yourself up, dust off the dirt and stare down adversity smack in the face.

Business and Life don’t always like to play nice…heck, it’d be great to always get to hit fastballs…but curve balls do come too…that’s just the reality of it.  So “whad ya say” you get prepared for the next time life pitches ‘ya a curve and ‘ya turn right around smack it outta the park right for a home-run!

I’ll leave you with a little excerpt from the latest book by Morgan Hill titled “Open the Floodgates.”

“The western states were experiencing an “oil boom” and it seemed as if people from all walks of life were drilling in hopes of striking it rich.  At the country club, I met several cowboys who were among the throngs of people trying to make money in the oil business.  As time passed, I noticed that some of the cowboys that regularly golfed at the club had stopped coming. 

I learned that they failed to strike oil, so they quit drilling and closed down their businesses.  As more time passed, some of the other cowboys drove up to the club in their beautiful cars, wearing very nice clothes and handing out BIG tip money.  Being young and curious, I asked how they became successful when others failed.  The answers all had a common thread…one particular story went like this.”

“When I first started, I had to go to the bank to borrow the money for the drilling equipment.  I was up to my neck in debt, so I stayed out in the hot oil fields all day, working hard to find oil.  I knew that some of my friends had gone bankrupt, but I was always taught that “cowboys don’t quit!”  But one day I was ready to call it quits for good, but I forced myself to drill down just a little bit deeper.  And that’s when I struck it rich.  The crazy thing was that the distance between where I wanted to quit and where I actually struck oil was only about 5 feet.  Can you imagine that?  It was only 5 feet between success and failure.  I struck oil because I refused to give up.”

By Micah Davis

Add to Technorati Favorites



4 Responses

  1. Micah, got a proposition for you. You write a book, and I’ll be your editor. We would make a powerful combination. Think about it!

  2. LOL…maybe we’ll have to set that up one day!

    Micah

  3. pittsburgh musicians classified

  4. Wow…;)

Leave a Reply

